Erasmus ‘trims the fat’


Rassie Erasmus, Springbok coach and the South African Rugby Union Director of Rugby, trimmed his squad for Round Two of the Rugby Championship.

Erasmus named a squad of 28 players for the visit to Argentina, where the Springboks will face the Pumas in Mendoza this coming Saturday.

South Africa beat Argentina 34-21 in Durban at the weekend an Erasmus admitted Los Pumas ‘will be fuming” and looking for revenge on home soil.

Erasmus trimmed the forwards by three players – leaving flanks Jean-Luc du Preez and Sikhumbuzo Notshe, as well as lock Marvin Orie at home.

The Boks are also without uncapped flank Cyle Brink, who underwent surgery late last week to repair damage suffered to his injured knee.

Ross Cronje (scrumhalf), Jesse Kriel (centre) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing) are the three backs not travelling over to South America.

The Springboks have a recovery day on Sunday in Durban, while the squad is due to fly out to Argentina on Monday morning.

Erasmus will announce his matchday squad on Thursday.

 South African squad:

Forwards: Thomas du Toit, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi (captain), Francois Louw, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Mbongeni Mbonambi, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Rudolph Snyman, Armand van der Merwe, Marco van Staden, Warren Whiteley.

Backs: Lukhanyo Am, Francois de Klerk, Aphiwe Dyantyi, André Esterhuizen, Elton Jantjies, Willie le Roux, Makazole Mapimpi, Lionel Mapoe, Embrose Papier, Handré Pollard, Ivan van Zyl, Damian Willemse.