The Lions
Image: News24

The Lions on Thursday confirmed contract extensions with eight more players.

Madosh Tambwe (wing), Shaun Reynolds(flyhalf), Johannes Jonker (prop), Len Massyn(loose forward), Jacobie Adriaanse (prop), Sti Sithole (prop), Rhyno Herbst (lock) and Robert Kruger (flank/lock) all put pen to paper on Thursday.

This follows the announcements earlier in the week that 20 other players had extended their stay at the Johannesburg franchise.

The following players also signed new deals with the Lions earlier in the week: Elton Jantjies (flyhalf), Lionel Mapoe (centre), Warren Whiteley (No 8), Malcolm Marx (hooker), Ross Cronje (scrumhalf), Aphiwe Dyantyi (wing), Cyle Brink (flank), Marvin Orie (lock), Courtnall Skosan (wing), Dillon Smit (scrumhalf), Kwagga Smith (flank), Andries Coetzee (fullback), Ruan Combrinck (wing), Dylan Smith (prop), Nic Groom (scrumhalf), Marnus Schoeman (flank), Lourens Erasmus (lock), Harold Vorster (centre), Sylvian Mahuza (utility back), Hacjivah Dayimani (loose forward).

The signings are certainly good news for the union who have lost a number of players overseas including Jaco Kriel (flank), Franco Mostert (lock), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (centre), Ruan Dreyer and Jacques van Rooyen (props).

The Lions have been Super Rugby runners-up for the past three years.